Harrogate Town secured a 2-1 win over United at the CNG stadium on a cold day in Yorkshire.

Manager Gary Johnson made five changes to the side that suffered defeat to Stockport County seven days ago. Lucas Covolan, Joe Lewis, Jake Andrews, Connor Lemonheigh-Evans, and Kalvin Lumbombo-Kalala came into the starting line-up. Captain Asa Hall and Saikou Janneh were the latest players to miss out on the match day squad through injury.

United failed to stamp any authority on the game in the opening moments but were unlucky to fall behind in the 10th minute when a limp shot from Harrogate’s Alex Bradley took a wicked deflection off Robbie Cundy to beat Lucas Covolan.

Harrogate had the better of the first half without creating too many chances, but they the more threatening of the two teams. In contrast United failed to force Sulpherites ‘keeper James Belshaw into a worthwhile save. Their best effort came from Connor Lemonheigh-Evans who shot over after the ball broke to him from a corner.

United were better after the break but Harrogate doubled their lead in the 56th minute when United failed to deal with a cross into their box. Jon Stead scoring after taking control of the ball in the box and finding the top corner. It was a composed finish.

Manager Gary Johnson rang the changes in the 60th minute with a triple substitution. Jean-Yves Koue Niate, Ruairi Keating, and Jared Lewington were brought in and contributed to United’s improved performance.

In the 68th minute Jared Lewington’s ball across the box found Ben Whitfield who was brought down by Bradley. The referee pointed to the spot and Jamie Reid duly beat Belshaw to get United back into the game.

United’s best chance to equalise came in the 87th minute when Whitfield shot wide.

We would like to thank the 294 members of the Yellow Army that supported the team today.

Harrogate Town: 1 James Belshaw, 4 Josh Falkingham ©, 7 George Thomson, 14 Brendan Kiernan [8 Jack Emmett 74’], 15 Alex Bradley, 16 Jonathan Stead, 17 Lloyd Kerry, 18 Jack Muldoon [23 Jack Diamond 80’], 20 Connor Hall, 22 Williams Smith, 25 Mitch Hancox, SUBS NOT USED: 3 George Smith, 13 Joe Cracknell, 21 Scott Brown

TUFC: 28 Lucas Covolan, 2 Ben Wynter, 4 Kyle Cameron ©, 6 Joe Lewis, 11 Jake Andrews, 17 Connor Lemonheigh-Evans, 19 Jamie Reid, 20 Kalvin Lumbombo-Kalala [7 Ruairi Keating 60’], 21 Amrit Bansal-McNulty [29 Jared Lewington 60’], 25 Robbie Cundy [5 Jean-Yves Koue Niate 60’], 34. Ben Whitfield, SUBS NOT USED: 1 Shaun MacDonald, 15 Matt Buse

Yellow Card: Lewis 82’

Attendance: 1,348 (294 away)